Bollywood Stars Who Rejected The Awards


In the movie industry, Award Ceremonies are meant not only for honor but also to encourage the talent behind them. In India, Bollywood is one of the most famous movie industry.

In Bollywood, various artists got the honor in Award Ceremonies for their amazing contribution to the cinema. Every artist wants to get some appreciation in the form of an award which also helps them to perform even better and it is the encouragement for their talent.

But some of the celebrities in Bollywood refused some prestigious awards regardless of the stature with their reasons.

The famous legendry heroes like Aamir Khan and Ajay Devgn generally don’t attend Award Ceremonies as they believe that these awards are fake and focus on work satisfaction.

So here in this session, we are going to know about the celebrities who are refused to get the honor and why.

1. Sashi Kapoor

Sashi Kapoor was not only an Actor but also Film Producer. He got 4 National Awards and 2 Filmfare Awards. He is the only actor who had refused the great National Award.

He was given National Award for his outstanding performance in the movie Dharma Putra. He felt that his performance in the movie was not worthy enough to get the honor.

2. Lata Mangeshkar

Lata Mangeshkar who is known as The Nightingale of Bollywood is one of the famous Indian playback singers. She received several awards like Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

But Lata Mangeshkar rejected her first Filmfare trophy. Why because of the trophy designed as a lady without clothes on it. Giving respect to her the Filmfare team made the changes in the trophy as they dressed up the lady and gave it to the Lata Mangeshkar in 1958.

3. Reena Roy

Reena Roy is one of the best Bollywood actresses. She performed many leading roles from 1972 to 1985. Reena Roy had a different reason to reject the award. Reena Roy got the Filmfare award in 1977 for the movie Apnapan as Best Supporting Actress.

But as per Reena, she played a lead role, not the supporting role. This is the reason behind her rejection of the award.

4. Vyjayanthimala

Vyajayanthimala was one of the biggest Bollywood stars. She facilitated the Best-supporting Actress Award from Filmfare for her role in Bimal Roy’s Devadas as Chandramukhi in 1955.

By saying that she plays a lead role in this movie and that is the reason for turning down the award.

5. Suchitra Sen

Suchitra Sen was one of the famous Bollywood film actresses in Hindi and Bengali. She is another actress in Bimal Roy’s Devadas in 1955. She got India’s biggest cinema honor Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

Suchitra Sen refused to take the award in public ceremony and wished to take the honor in a private ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in the year 2005. But the organizers did not accept her wish.

6. Kangana Ranaut

Kangana Ranaut is one of the famous beautiful Hindi actress and filmmaker. She has an attitude of disliking the Award shows. So, she never attended the Award show.

But when her turn comes to receive an award, she courteously accepted the invitation. Kangana was presented with Best Actress Award at the Melbourne Film Festival for the movie Tanu Weds Manu.

7. Kumar Sanu

Kumar Sanu is one of the excellent Indian playback singers of Bollywood. He has sung some of the most soulful and trending songs in Hindi and Bengali Films.

He received Five back to back Filmfare Awards as the Best Singer in the very short period 1990 to 1994.

He won first Filmfare as the Best Male Playback Singer and his voice used to add magic in the movies. He just wanted to give a chance for upcoming singers to get the recognition and decided to reject the awards in the most humble way.

8. Prithviraj Kapoor

Prithviraj Kapoor is one of the famous actors and supporting actor in Bollywood. He started his career as an actor in silent Hindi films. He won the Padma Bhushan and Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his best performance in Indian movies.

Prithviraj refused to receive the Filmfare Award as Best Supporting Actor in the movie Mughal-E- Azam because he felt that he should receive a Filmfare Award for Best Actor.

9. Salim Khan

One of the marvelous Bollywood writer Salim Khan who is the father of Salman Khan refused the Padma Bhushan Award in 2015.

Because he felt that his contributions should receive higher honor than Padma Bhushan. Salim Khan is not only a writer but also an Indian Actor and Producer.

10. Sonu Nigam

Sonu Nigam is a multi-talented person who is an Indian Playback Singer, Live Performer, Actor, Composer, and Host. He won several awards including 1 National Award, 2 Filmfare Awards in Hindi and 3 Filmfare Awards in South.

But he refused to take a 1997 Filmfare as the best singer for the song Sandeshe Aate Hain. The reason behind it was, that song was sung by both Sonu Nigam and Roop Kumar Rathore.